header small-header
Assumption of The B. V. M Province


Second UAC National Assembly, Prabodhana, Mysore

The Second UAC National Assembly was held at Prabodhana, Mysore from August 5-7, 2016. Theme of the Assembly was: “Chosen to bear fruits that endure” (Jn. 15: 16). The participants of the Assembly were: Very Rev. Fr. Jacob Nampudakam SAC, Ecclesiastical Assistant of UAC; Ms. Donatella Acerbi, GCC President; Very Rev. Fr. Varghese Pullan, NCCIn President and Provincial Rector of PPP; Very Rev. Fr. Shanti Prakash Panna, Provincial Rector of KJP; Very Rev. Fr. Camilo Simoes, Provincial Rector of ABVM Province; Very Rev. Sr. LigiThottakath, Provicial Superior of CSAC; Very Rev. Sr.Inacinha Fernandes, Provincial Superior of SAC Sisters; Ms. Crispina D’Costa, President of Khristseviakas; Rev. Fr. Thomas Vijay, National Formators of UAC; Mrs. Sonia Saldhana, GCC Member, and other members of NCCIn, and delegates from all the components of UAC. All in all there were 79 participants including two observers (Priests - 30, Sisters - 19, Laity - 30).

The Assembly commenced with the inaugural Holy Eucharist presided over by Very Rev. Fr. Jacob Nampudakam SAC, Rector General, at 6.30 a.m. The official inaugural ceremony of the Assembly started at 9.00 a.m. with a prayer followed by the welcome address by Very Rev. Fr. Varghese Pullan, SAC, the president of NCCIn and the lighting of the lamp by the dignitaries and the representatives of the delegates and garlanding of the pictures of Mary Queen of the Apostles and that of St. Vincent Pallotti. Ms. Donatella Acerbi, the UAC President of GCC, then addressed the Assembly. This was followed by presentations of various reports; the Activities of UAC in India by the NCCIn president, Financial Statement by Mr. Robert Norman, Formation Commission by Fr. Vijay Thomas, Media Commission by Fr. Emmanuel Joshi, and the UAC experience of the local units by Mrs. Sonia Saldhana.

The first of day of the assembly was mostly devoted for the presentation of different papers by various resource persons on the theme of the Assembly:

The second day of the Assembly was devoted to the discussion and deliberation on the working paper. On the last day morning election was held for the 7 NCCIn members (1 Father, 1 Sister, 5 lay members). The newly elected members are: Rev. Fr. James Joseph, Rev. Sr. Josephine, Mr. Japaraj, Mr. Joseph Bantleman, Mr. Pius Monteiro, Mrs. Nirmala Tirkey, and Mrs. Stella Besterwitch. This was followed by the discussion and approval of the Final Statement and Recommendations of the Assembly. The Assembly was then concluded with evaluation of the Assembly and concluding address by Rev. Fr. Varghese Pullan SAC, the President of the NCCIn, on 7th of August by 1.00 p.m.

All the three days the members of the assembly joined Prabodhana community for the meals and spiritual activities like celebration of the Eucharist, Adoration of the Eucharist, and praying the Rosary. Besides every day the sessions were started with a prayer service led by the Liturgy committee.