Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary Province

St. Vincent Pallotti, a Roman Catholic Priest, founded the Society of the Catholic Apostolate in 1835. The members of the Society of the Catholic Apostolate are known worldwide as Pallottines (Pallottine Fathers and Brothers). In 1951, Pallottine Fathers and Brothers from the Sacred Heart Province, Germany, came to India and started the Indian mission in Raipur, Chhattisgarh. The Raipur mission of the Pallottines gradually grew as a Region and subsequently the first Pallottine Province “Prabhu Prakash Province” was erected in 1988. The Pallottine mission also gave birth to the Diocese of Raipur with a Pallottine Priest as its first Apostolic Administrator. After 50 years of Pallottine Presence in India, on January 06, 2002 the Prabhu Prakash Province was divided into three entities, viz. Prabhu Prakash Province, Khrist Jyoti Province and Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary (ABVM) Province.

On January 06, 2020 the ABVM Province was restructured to create two new entities viz., Our Lady of Good Health Province, Tamil Nadu and Gloria Dei Region, Andhra Pradesh and Telangana. With this new development the ABVM Province presently consists of 95 priests and spread across the states of Karnataka, Maharashtra (except the Region of Vidarbha), Gujarat, Goa and Daman & Diu and abroad having its headquarters in Bangalore.

The Pallottines try to apply St. Vincent Pallotti’s vision of empowering the laity and enable their talents, resources in the different ministries and thereby they become integral part of the Church in today’s time.Currently, the administration of ABVM Province is entrusted to

Very Rev. Fr. Roque Teodorio Gonsalves, The Provincial Rector
Rev. Fr. Valentine Anthony Alphonso – First consultor
Rev. Fr. Claudy Stany Vas – Consultor
Rev. Fr. Paul Francis Coutinha – Consultor
Rev. Fr. Oswald D’Souza – Consultor